March 24th, 2008

Book reports and quick writing update...

For those of you who happened to Google your title and ended up here, please know that one star is not a bad thing in Robin's world -- just the fact the I picked up your book and started it means that somewhere it's getting good buzz (or that your blurb was really cool). 'R' means it's a re-read.

* I didn't make it beyond the first 20 pages.
** I made it to the end, but I either skimmed or skipped large sections.
*** I might have skipped/skimmed, but I liked it and will read it again.
**** I read at least 95% of the book and it was good.
***** I read every word, and I loved it!

Night Fall, by Joan Aiken (R) ***** I usually reread this about once a year -- good workout book :)

Deep Storm, by Lincoln Child **** I've found a new, fun author! Another good workout read, heh. For fans of Michael Crichton, I'd say.

Wildfire at Midnight, by Mary Stewart (R) ***** Yeah, this is one of my two very favorite Mary Stewarts -- I read it at least once a year (probably more). I love the atmosphere and the completely satisfying ending :)

Devilish, by Maureen Johnson **** This was pretty good. It didn't beat my favorite Maureen Johnson (which is BERMUDEZ TRIANGLE), but it was enjoyable.

Not sure when I'll have another book report -- right now I'm about a fifth of the way through The Stand -- whew!

My newest WIP is still exciting me (that's always nice), and I'm tooling along ;) I think I'm going to call it FALTER NOT for now. Here's the meter:

  • Current Mood
    pleased pleased